Follow Monica on Facebook and find out about her upcoming events!

Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) 2012 Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature

The Américas Award is given in recognition of U.S. works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction (from picture books to works for young adults) published in the previous year in English or Spanish that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States. By combining both and linking the Americas, the award reaches beyond geographic borders, as well as multicultural-international boundaries, focusing instead upon cultural heritages within the hemisphere. The award is sponsored by the national Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP).

The Américas Award winners and commended titles are selected for their

  1. distinctive literary quality
  2. cultural contextualization
  3. exceptional integration of text, illustration and design; and
  4. potential for classroom use.
Winning books will be honored at a ceremony in October 2012 during Hispanic Heritage Month at the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

2012 Américas Award Winners

  • Hurricane Dancers: The First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck by Margarita Engle. Henry Holt and Company. 160 pages. ISBN 978-0805092400.
  • Pablo Neruda: Poet of the People by Monica Brown; Illustrated by Julie Paschkis. Henry Holt and Company. 32 pages. 978-0805091984.

Website icons copyright Rafael López and John Parra
2013 copyright Monica Brown. All Rights Reserved.
A Mystic Fruit Site