Monica Brown is the award-winning author over thirty magical multicultural picture books for children including Waiting for the Biblioburro, Marisol McDonald Doesn't Match/Marisol McDonald no combina and the Lola Levine chapter book series, inspired by her Peruvian and Jewish heritage. Monica's books have been featured in the NYTimes, The Washington Post, and on NPR's All Things Considered and have received multiple starred reviews. She is the recipient of two Américas Awards and The Christopher Award, among others. Recent picture books by Monica include Frida and her Animalitos, Sharuko: El Arqueólogo Peruano/ Peruvian Archaeologist Julio C. Tello and The Turquoise Room/El cuarto Turquesa. Monica's forthcoming books include Singing Justice, Singing Peace, a biography of Joan Baez forthcoming from Simon & Schuster/Beach Lane and a new chapter book series The Fintastical Tales of Mari A. Fisch out Summer 2025 from HarperKids.


Facebook: Monica Brown, Children's Author

Monica Brown, Valle del Sol Awards 2017

Website icons copyright Rafael López and John Parra
2024 copyright Monica Brown. All Rights Reserved.
A Mystic Fruit Site